

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/
INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE
900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331
P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460
www.lacountyiswmtf.org

GAIL FARBER, CHAIR MARGARET CLARK, VICE-CHAIR

January 30, 2012

Mr. Brian Cummings, Fire Chief City of Los Angeles Fire Department 200 North Main Street, 18th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90012

Mr. Daryl L. Osby, Fire Chief County of Los Angeles Fire Department 1320 North Eastern Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90063

Dear Chief Cummings and Chief Osby:

TRAINING ACTIVITIES BY FIRE DEPARTMENTS AT THE SUNSHINE CANYON LANDFILL

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) invites you and/or your representatives to attend the Task Force's meetings on February 16, 2012, to provide information regarding training activities your Departments have conducted at the Sunshine Canyon Landfill, located at 14747 San Fernando Road, Sylmar, CA 91342.

Since 2009, the Task Force has been monitoring efforts by the landfill's operator, Republic Services, to re-vegetate areas within the landfill's property. One of our concerns is with regards to whether any aspects of your Departments' recent training sessions at the landfill, including the use of any fire retardants on the slopes, may have potentially impacted vegetation growth at the landfill.

The Task Force would appreciate the attendance of you and/or your representative on Thursday, February 16, 2012, at both of the following meetings:

- Facility and Plan Review Subcommittee meeting at 11 a.m.
- Main Task Force meeting at 1 p.m.

Please provide the name and contact information of your representative at your earliest convenience, but not later than February 8, 2012, so that we may indicate it on our agenda and coordinate accordingly. Agendas for the meetings will be provided to you when they become available. The meetings will be located at the County of

Chief Cummings Chief Osby January 30, 2012 Page 2

Los Angeles Department of Public Works at 900 South Fremont Avenue, Alhambra, CA 91803. Please check in at the front lobby and proceed to Conference Room C in the courtyard.

Pursuant to Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code and the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (AB 939, as amended), the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of all major solid waste planning documents prepared for the County of Los Angeles and the 88 cities in Los Angeles County with a combined population in excess of ten million. Consistent with these responsibilities, and to ensure a coordinated, cost-effective, and environmentally sound solid waste management system in Los Angeles County, the Task Force also addresses issues impacting the system on a countywide basis. The Task Force membership includes representatives of the League of California Cities-Los Angeles County Division, the County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors, the City of Los Angeles, the waste management industry, environmental groups, the public, and a number of other governmental agencies.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer of the Task Force at (909) 592-1147 or MikeMohajer@yahoo.com.

Sincerely,

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair

Margaret Clark

Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/

Integrated Waste Management Task Force and

Council Member, City of Rosemead

I D/te

P:\eppub\ENGPLAN\TASK FORCE\Letters\Fire Department Training SCL 01-30-12.doc

cc: Republic Services, Inc. (David Cieply, Anthony Bertrand)

City of Los Angeles Fire Department (Jeff Moir)

County of Los Angeles Fire Department (Tom Short)

Sunshine Canyon Landfill – Local Enforcement Agency (Cindy Chen, Gerry Villalobos, Wayne Tsuda)

County of Los Angeles Department of Regional Planning (Maria Masis, Pat Hachiya)

City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning (Ly Lam, Nicholas Hendricks)

County of Los Angeles Department of Public Works (Pat Proano)

Each Member of the Joint Sunshine Canyon Landfill Technical Advisory Committee

Sunshine Canyon Landfill Community Advisory Committee (Becky Bendikson,

Wayde Hunter)

Each Member of the Los Angeles County Integrated Waste Management Task Force

Each Member of the Facility and Planning Subcommittee